• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Virtualization Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

MultiPoint Server or nComputing

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Virtualization] >> General >> MultiPoint Server or nComputing Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
MultiPoint Server or nComputing - 30.May2011 7:19:05 PM   
Scott Lowe

I work in education and am very interested in Microsoft's MultiPoint product as well as nComputing's similar product. Are any of you actively using either of these products? Although I have begun some testing, I'm primarily interested in understanding how well multimedia functions work on the devices, both USB-based devices and Ethernet-based devices.

If you have any experience, I'd like to hear about it.

Scott
Post #: 1
RE: MultiPoint Server or nComputing - 1.Jun.2011 6:40:36 PM   
rgaudet

I too work in education (K-12) and we use n-Computing pretty exclusively for desktop virtualization. We predominately use the X series for our classrooms as we have a standard model of 2 physical stations in each of our K-5 (1 for teacher and 1 for student). The one for student is outfitted with a X350 kit which gives us up to 4 virtual desktop + the 1 physical desktop for a total of 5 usable stations for the kids. We always keep a few extra kits and computers around in case that that computer dies so we can replace it pretty quick while we work on the failed computer. We are doing this same model in our 6-8 grades, but only for math, reading, and science classrooms as we tend to have more 1:1 computer labs in those upper grades. We have not done any n-Computing in the 9-12 grades as again, they tend to have more 1:1 computer labs at their disposal.