• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Virtualization Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Installing Hyper-V

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Virtualization] >> General >> Installing Hyper-V Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Installing Hyper-V - 5.Nov.2010 12:15:32 PM   
azler

I am new to virtualization and wanted to experiment with Microsoft's new Hyper-V product, I have two spare relatively good desktop computers i wanted to turn in to Hyper-V servers in a cluster.

They are HP dx2420 Tower pcs with 4Gb DDR2 ram, and a Intel Core 2 Duo E7400  2.8 Ghz processor and a 500 GB Hd in each.

I Download the product off the microsoft website and it all installed fine, i configured it and it all seemed t run great.
I then on my Windows 7 Computer installed the Hyper V tools to manage it again they installed great, However when i went to start a new virtual computer it game me the error that it failed because the computers does not support virtualization or the hardware assisted virtualization was turned off int he Bios.
After some research some of the E7400 do support intel VT and some do not and i have one that does not.

As this is only a test server is there anyway to bypass this so it will work?
I know there was a fix released to allow this on windows 7 computers trying to run Virtual XP.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Regards,
Rob
Post #: 1
RE: Installing Hyper-V - 16.Nov.2010 4:37:12 AM   
georgec

Hi Rob,

The processor VT capability is the main requirement of virtualized environments, hence, I can't understand how you can do without it! For MS installations, I suggest you run this tool on the deployment machine/server - Microsoft Hardware-Assisted Virtualization Detection Tool

(in reply to azler)
Post #: 2